City of Beloit


If you are considering a relocation to Beloit, or one of the surrounding towns in Mitchell County we would like to take this opportunity to welcome you. Below you will find important contact information for the City of Beloit, and surounding towns. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. 

Make Mitchell County Your Home

Welcome to Mitchell County. Located in North Central Kansas, in the Solomon Valley, we are home to the Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park. Mitchell County is comprised of our largest town and county seat, Beloit, in addition to Glen Elder, Cawker City, Tipton, Hunter, Scottsville, Asherville, Simpson and Solomon Rapids. 

Beloit Logo

Beloit, KS

Beloit is a city in, and the county seat of Mitchell County, Kansas. As of the 2010 census the city population was 3,385. Beloit is just 15 minutes from Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park, which are some of the country’s best pheasant hunting areas and provide excellent fishing, hunting, camping and nature study opportunities. 

City Office:

119 N Hersey 

Beloit, KS 67420



Glen Elder is a farming community, located on Hwy 24, and home of the Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park. Enjoy the city’s original design of a town square surrounding Neffel Park. 

City Office:

213 S. Market St. PO Box 55

Glen Elder, KS 67446



Located on Hwy 24 and the north edge of Waconda Lake, Cawker City’s history includes the World’s Largest Ball of Sisal Twine created by a local farmer. recreation here includes Lakeside Park with a 9-hole golf course located directly alongside the lake. 

City Office:

804 Locust St

Cawker City, KS 67430


Tipton is a small farming community on Hwy 181, with a history of agricultural manufacturing. Visit the traditional main street with a grocery store, hardware, bank, cafe, museum and other are attractions. One hundred year old private high school remains open here. 

City Office:

608 Main St. 

Tipton, KS 67485


Small farming community located on Hwy 181

Other Mitchell County Towns include Scottsville in northeastern Mitchell County, just off of Hwy 9. Additional towns on Hwy 24 are Asherville and Simpson, just east of Beloit and Solomon Rapids, located west of Beloit.